Skip to Main Content

Office of the Associate Administrator

The Office of the Associate Administrator for NASA's Science Mission Directorate (SMD) is responsible for directing and overseeing the nation’s space research program in Earth and space science. The Directorate engages the external and internal science community to define and prioritize science questions and seeks to expand the frontiers of four broad scientific pursuits: Earth Science, Planetary Science, Heliophysics, and Astrophysics.

Through a variety of robotic observatory and explorer craft, and through sponsored research, the Directorate provides virtual human access to the farthest reaches of space and time, as well as practical information about changes on our home planet.

  • Mr. Geoffrey L. Yoder, Associate Administrator (Acting)

    Sept. 10, 2012

    Mr. Geofferey L. Yoder is the acting Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate. Previously, he was the Deputy Associate Administrator for SMD. In his career, he has previously held leadership responsibilities for the James Webb Space Telescope, as program director at the agency's headquarters in Washington. Prior to that assignment, Yoder served as the director of the Office of Evaluation at NASA Headquarters, responsible for assessing NASA programs, projects and institutions for cost effectiveness, quality, and performance in achieving strategic objectives, including ensuring alignment with national goals and the agency's vision and mission.

  • Dr. Jeffrey Newmark, Deputy Associate Administrator for Research

    June 29, 2016

    Dr. Jeffrey Newmark is the Deputy Associate Administrator for Research within NASA’s Science Mission Directorate. Principal responsibilities encompass: ensuring scientific quality and integrity of research processes, including oversight of SMD scientific competition processes for research awards and flight programs; representing SMD research goals, policies and programs inside and outside NASA; overseeing SMD’s relationship with the National Research Council; managing Directorate-level coordination of suborbital-class flight programs, SMD education and communications efforts, and overseeing and ensuring the integration of technology efforts within SMD projects.

  • Mr. Gregory Robinson, Deputy Associate Administrator for Programs

    Jan. 20, 2016

    Mr. Gregory L. Robinson is the Deputy Associate Administrator for Programs in the NASA Science Mission Directorate (SMD). He is responsible for assessing NASA programs, projects and institutions for technical and cost effectiveness, quality, and performance. He also coordinates program and project content with the other NASA Mission Directorates, and federal agencies in which SMD has partnerships. SMD has a portfolio of 97 missions in formulation, development, and operations.

  • Mr. Roy Maizel, Deputy Associate Administrator for Management

    Oct. 30, 2008

    Roy A. Maizel is the Deputy Associate Administrator for Management, responsible for the formulation and execution of the Directorate’s $4+ billion budget, as well as the guidance and oversight of all strategic planning and policy development activities. He is also responsible for the provision of administrative support to the Directorate's approximately 200-person Headquarters organization.

  • Dr. Eric Smith, James Webb Program Director

    Sept. 6, 2012

    Dr. Eric Smith is the James Webb Space Telescope Deputy Program Director at NASA Headquarters, Washington, D.C. He works with the Webb Project during the observatory’s development to keep NASA Headquarters management and external partners, both international and intergovernmental, apprised of how the developing hardware measures up against costs, schedules, and science requirements.

  • Ms. Kristen J. Erickson, Science Engagement and Partnerships Director

    Feb. 5, 2016

    Ms. Kristen Erickson was selected in June 2014 as NASA's Director for Science Engagement and Partnerships. In this role, she oversees restructuring of science education and communications for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate.

  • Mr. Michael Seablom, Chief Technologist

    March 1, 2016

    Michael Seablom is the Chief Technologist for the Science Mission Directorate at NASA Headquarters. He has the responsibility for surveying and assessing technology needs for the Heliophysics, Astrophysics, Earth Science, and Planetary Science Divisions, and is the primary liaison to the NASA Office of Chief Technologist and the Space Technology Mission Directorate.